rubykatewriting: (Alexis B.)
[personal profile] rubykatewriting
So it's the letter meme. I was tagged by the lovely Ms. [livejournal.com profile] halfway2home and am now feeling daunted by the task of coming up with ten things that I love starting with the letter M.


1. Mojitos. Yummy and delicious and oh-so refreshing. I prefer the ones they serve at Bossa's best as the Asian Pear Mojito at PF Chang's lacks that delicious mix of the sweetness of the sugar and the tang of lime I adore. But, beware. Do not try to eat the mint leaves. LaLa made that mistake when we were at Bossa's and it was HORRIBLE.

2. Margaritas. I love them on the rocks and frozen. I love them each and every way they come, even in flavors. I myself make a kickass strawberry Myarita, a version concocted by resident margarita expert, Mya, also my mom's co-worker, and if my mom and Mya have it their way, my future mother-in-law. (Don't ask. It is a result of two yentas coming together. And no, I'm not Jewish. It's just apt.)

3. Matthew McFayden. It's all to do with those perfect blue eyes of his and that voice. OH MY HELL. THE VOICE. Evidence of the pretty (at least):

Photobucket - Video and Image HostingPhotobucket - Video and Image Hosting

4. Melissa Joy Manning. I have loved her jewelry for years, and during our brief correspondence, she was absolutely lovely. You can find her latest collections here.

5. Manicures. These are an indulgence for me and one I rarely ever allow myself as it's truly a waste of time and money. It's just every so often when I'm getting my pedicure, I have to indulge, and I come thisclose to declaring everlasting love to my girl Michelle because she is made of awesome and gives the BEST hand/arm, foot/leg massages EVER.

6. Medium rare steak. If it isn't bloody in the center, it is NOT worth eating. Oh, and give me a nice glass of Merlot and I'm a happy little pig.

7. Megan McCafferty. For Sloppy Firsts. For Second Helpings. For Charmed Thirds. For Jessica Darling. For Marcus Flutie. For being an awesome writer and successful but gracious and the best person to fangirl.

8. My So-Called Life. I was the same age as Angela. I wore the butt-fugliest flannel shirt with everything, even when it was 90+ and muggy as fuck outside. I identified to an infinite degree with Angela Chase and wished for my own Rickie. My own Sharon. My own Rayanne with all her myriad problems. And man did I want my own confusing, frustrating Jordan Catalano.

"I just like how he's always leaning. Against stuff. He leans great. Well, either sex or a conversation. Ideally both."

9. Medium. Joe and Allison are made of awesome. They fight. They love each other. They're frequently in just their underwear, which I've heard is what the producers warned Jake and Patricia about going into the show. They are far from perfect, but I love my visits with them each week. Not to mention Ariel and Bridget, but to be honest, I have to say Bridget is by far my favorite (only by a smidge really). Her little voice. The way her face scrunches up in confusion at least once an episode. How adorable she is without even realizing it. Absolute cutie!

10. Michelle Williams. I've loved and adored her since her Dawson's Creek days when she (and Joshua Jackson) was running circles around The Beek and Kool-Aid Katie with shittylimited material. Then she went on to do this interesting mix of films both as the lead (Me Without You) and as a supporting player (The Station Agent, Imaginary Heroes, and Brokeback Mountain). She still never fails to amaze me with each new performance, and I love that, even if the smaller indies she prefers mean I have to wait a little longer to see them. She's out there, doing her thing, and I adore her for it.



Oh how I've missed Marty. More than that, I remember how much I loved the gentle, easy chemistry between Alexis and Wayne. They're just lovely to watch on screen together. It's a shame they're going the unrequited route. I would have loved to see a return of their great friendship.

Also, Alexis, honey, you looked gorgeous tonight, and I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY want your outfit from the party. Cord mini + fishnets = WIN, WIN, WIN.



It's my own fault really. I let myself get sucked in by the ads during Gilmore girls, and I should have fucking known BETTER! Oh, Rob, you really just don't GET IT. When you have turned your likeable, relatable heroine into a smug twerp who thinks she knows it so much better than everyone else, you don't go pouring the willful stupidity into the mix, mm'kay? You can't have it both ways.

You stupid, moronic, arrogant DUMBFUCK. Guh. Would you please take your toys and go the fuck home already?

Date: 2006-11-29 04:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] random-serious.livejournal.com
Haven't sen VM, but you are not instilling me with confidence... this season has been a mess and... he's making V stupid too? Fuck!

Date: 2006-11-29 04:28 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rubykatewriting.livejournal.com
this season has been a mess
Understatement of the century. Not to say that season two was all that spectacular (far from it), but I stopped watching two eps back. Now I remember why.

he's making V stupid too? Fuck!
There are no words. It's just beyond ridiculous. ARGH x INFINITY.

Date: 2006-11-29 06:25 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] halfway2home.livejournal.com
8.) Leaning will never get old. My MSCL dvds are out on loan right now.

9.) I love Joe and Allison and their little family so much. I want to hug them. Hee.

10.) I didn't love Jen at first, but by the end of DC, she was my favorite character, probably. I really respect Michelle for going the non-traditional career route. And "Dick" is a really funny movie!

Date: 2006-11-29 05:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rubykatewriting.livejournal.com
I remember when I found the MSCL DVDs at Best Buy, I immediately called [livejournal.com profile] kimarama and was so beyond excited, she called me back with, "Um, whaaat?" Of course, I was the one who recorded the reruns on MTV during their first post-cancellation run WITHOUT commercials. I would sit there, not even a foot from the TV and VCR, and hit pause for the commercial breaks. Me, OBSESSED? Psshaw!

And "Dick" is a really funny movie!
It was just on recently and I couldn't believe how many amazing actors they smashed into that baby. Also, I love Devon Gummersall as Betsy's stoner brother.

Date: 2006-11-29 07:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] halfway2home.livejournal.com
I bought tapes of MSCL off someone from the internet because they didn't have DVDs at the time. I had never seen the show, but heard so much about it, I was dying to see it.

Date: 2006-11-30 09:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rubykatewriting.livejournal.com
The only show I've done that with was Sherman Oaks during my fangirling of all things Jason Behr. Boy, was that an odd one, although I will say, unlike Roswell, it improved during the second season.

Date: 2006-11-30 11:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] briary-flower.livejournal.com
With respect to Veronica Mars, all is see is lip gloss. Pink lip gloss.

Date: 2006-12-01 03:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rubykatewriting.livejournal.com
Yep, it has about as much depth. It's pretty. That's about fucking it at this point.

Unfortunately, that doesn't do it for me anymore.

Date: 2006-12-13 05:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] briary-flower.livejournal.com
I'm commenting on your letter meme. Now you have to give me a letter.

Date: 2006-12-13 01:29 pm (UTC)

Profile

rubykatewriting: (Default)
rubykatewriting

June 2012

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10 111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 03:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios